Stargirl: An Update [CQ5]

In November 2015, I took part in National Novel Writing Month and wrote 50,000 words in 30 days. Then, over the next couple of months, I did about 20,000 more. By mid-January, I had the first draft of a novel called Stargirl.

After that, I just sort of forgot about it. Well, forgot isn’t the right word; I was always thinking about it, but somehow the momentum I’d built up by forcing myself to keep writing no matter what had just… disappeared. It hasn’t been until now, over a year after the first draft, that I’ve really been working on it again.

I bring this up now because I think I’ve just finished writing the last piece of totally new content. I still have some editing to do, but I think I’ve changed the structure as much as I wanted to in this second draft. The next step will be to ask a few people for feedback and then… I guess, onto the third draft?

Of course, I can’t just keep eternally drafting and improving. Nothing’s ever truly finished, but I think I’d like the third draft to be the last round before I start thinking about what I’m going to do with this story. Ultimately, I want it to be published in some form or another, but I don’t really know where to start with that.

Since I haven’t actually explained anything about the plot of Stargirl, by the way, and I probably need a synopsis to give to potential beta readers, here’s a quick explanation of what the story’s about:

Two struggling inventors meet a girl dressed as Ziggy Stardust, who claims to be a literal star from space. Everything gets weirder from there, and the novel follows the friendship between people made of Earth-stuff and one made of star-stuff; they teach her about the important things in life, like love, video games, compassion and pick and mix. It’s not a love story, but love is probably one of the things it’s about. Other things which Stargirl could be said to be about include David Bowie, the infinite unknowability of the universe, a couple of cats and something called an Octobike.

If anybody would like to be part of the beta reading on the second draft (or has any insight into how to look into getting a novel published), please drop me a comment on this post, or message me via the contact page. It’ll probably be another week or two before it’s ready for workshopping, but that’s soon enough to make me pretty excited! I finally produced something!

4 thoughts on “Stargirl: An Update [CQ5]

  1. I think what I’m going to do is put it in a Google document when it’s done and send the link to all the beta readers (that way you can either contact me directly or just comment on the doc with feedback), so I’ll email you with the link once that’s up. Probably a week or so at least, but if I do say so myself I’ve been smashing through it lately!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: You can now read the entirety of Stargirl totally free, ‘cos I’m a goon. – OverThinker Y

Leave a Reply

